RUS

Retrospective of Films by Vladimir Kobrin

«Group Portrait as a Still Life»
Russia, 18 min., 35 mm, 1993
«GraviDance»
Russia, 25 min., video, 1999
«Absolutely of Nothing»
Russia, 18 min., 35 mm, 1997
«The Last Dream of Anatoly Vasilievich»
USSR, 44 min., 35 mm, 1990
«Present Continius»
USSR, 24 min., 1989
«Self-organization of Biological Processes»
USSR, 18 min., 1989
«TYT. 1991»
Russia, 15 min., 1991

Vladimir Kobrin (1942 -1999) – film director, cameramen, production designer and scriptwriter. He was born in Moscow. After graduating from Russian State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK), the workshop of B.I.Volchek as a cameraman in 1968 he worked at Moscow studio of edu¬cational and in¬structional films "Centrnauchfilm". Since 1977 he made 35 films as a director and designer (20 of them are educational films on physics, chemistry and biology). In 1989 he started experimenting with computer image processing technologies in filmmaking. Between 1994-1995 he created around 40 computer processed video essays for the program "The Film Century" on the main Russian public TV channel ORT. Vladimir is the author of several multiscreen computerized films for the Museum of Great Patriotic War on Poklonnaya Gora in Moscow.
Since the early 1990s Vladimir actively participated in numerous foreign film forums and festivals in Hamburg, Cologne, Utrecht, Tamper, Oberhausen, Osnabruck, London, Paris, etc.

He is a winner of a number of prizes and awards: the Grand-prix at the Festival of Educational Films in Kazan (1989, “Biopotentials”), the Special Prize “Unicum” at the All-Russian Festival of Non-Fiction Films (1989, “Present Continuous”), the Special Prize of the Festival “Nestidnoe kino” (Films of No Shame) in Zarechnoe (1991, "The Last Dream of Anatoly Vasilievich”), the Nika Award  for the Best Popular-Science Film (1994, “Group Portrait Against a Still Life Background”). In 1994 Vladimir was awarded with the  Prize “Poznanie” (Knowledge) for his educational works that have become a part of world cultural and scientific asset and in 1999 with the Prize “Traditional Values and New Generation”  at the Worldview Film Festival (“Absolutely From Nothing”)
In the West Vladimir Kobrin was considered a father of Russian avant-garde scientific filmmaking. He was frequently invited to European film-schools with lectures (Cologne, Potsdam, Copenhagen, etc.) and in 1997 he received an invitation from Harvard University Film Achieve.  Special retrospectives of his films were shown at Pesaro Festival in Italy and in Montreal in 1998.

Vladimir Kobrin leaded workshops on filmmaking and computer graphics in VGIK and lifelong learning courses of State Film Committee of Russia (GOSKINO). As a charismatic leader, he managed to unite his colleagues and students in a creative group called “Kobrin Screen Studio”.
Vladimir Kobrin died December 7 1999.

In April 2000 the Worldview Film Festival introduced an Award in memory of Vladimir Kobrin.

FILMOGRAPHY: 
“Radioactive Phenomenon”, 1977; “Semiconductors”, 1978; “Mechanical Processing of Semiconductor Materials", 1978; “Semiconductors”, 1979; “Semiconductors’ Manufacturing Technique”, 1979; “Principal Physics of Quantum Theory”, 1980; “The Science of Mechanics”, 1981; “The Range and Objectives of Biophysics”, 1982; “Special Features of Biological Processes’ Kinetics", 1983; “High-Molecular Compounds”, 1984; “Control of Biological Processes”, 1985; “Thermodynamics of Biological Processes”, 1986; “Molecular Biophisics”, 1986; “Electron Transfer in Biological Sysstems”, 1987; “Biophysics of enzymatic processes”, 1987; “Transfer of Substances through Biological Membranes”, 1987; “Primary Photobiological Processes”, 1988; “Biopotentials”, 1988; “Self-Organization of Biological Systems”, 1989; “Homo Paradoksum”, 1989; “Present Continuous”, 1989; “Homo Paradoksum-2”, 1990;
“The Last Dream of Anatoly Vasilievich”, 1990; “Homo Paradoksum-3”, 1991; “1991=TUT”, 1991; “Steps Into Nowhere”, 1992; “Group Portrait Against a Still Life Background”, 1993; “The First Apocrypha”, 1993; “Future Continuous”, 1993; “Grey Time”, 1994; “Third Reality-1”, 1995; “Third Reality-2”, 1996; “Absolutely from Nothing”, 1998; “GraviDance”, 1999.

ENG

Ретроспектива Владимира Кобрина

«Групповой портрет в натюрморте»
Россия, 18 мин., 35 мм, 1993
«GraviDance»
Россия, 25 мин., видео, 1999
«Абсолютно из ничего»
Россия, 18 мин., 35 мм, 1997
«Последний сон Анатолия Васильевича»
СССР, 44 мин., 35 мм, 1990
«Презент Континиус»
СССР, 24 мин., 1989
«Самоорганизация биологических процессов»
СССР, 18 мин., 1989
«Тут. 1991»
Россия, 15 мин.,1991

Кобрин Владимир Михайлович (1942–1999), режиссер, кинооператор, художник, сценарист. Родился в Москве. В 1968 году окончил кинооператорский факультет ВГИКа (мастерская Б.И. Волчека). Работал на московской киностудии «Центрнаучфильм». С 1977 года в качестве режиссера поставил в общей сложности 35 картин (20 из них – образовательные, по химии, физике, биологии). С 1989 года практикует совмещение традиционной кинотехнологии с экспе¬риментальной компьютерной обработкой изображения. В 1994-1995 годах создал около сорока видеокомпьютерных эссе в рамках программы «Век кино» на 1-м канале (ОРТ). Автор серии полиэкран¬ных видеокомпьютерных фильмов для Музея Великой Отечественной войны на Поклонной горе.

С начала 1990-х Владимир Кобрин – активный участник многочисленных зарубежных кинофорумов: Гамбургского, Кёльнского, Утрехтского, Штутгартского фестивалей неигрового кино, фестивалей в Тампере, Оберхаузене, Оснабрюке, Лондоне, Париже и др. Обладатель многочисленных призов и наград: Гран-при фестиваля образова¬тельного кино в Казани (1989, «Биопотенциалы»); специальный приз «Уни¬кум» Всероссийского фестиваля неигрового кино (1989, «Present Continious»); специальный приз фестиваля «Нестыдное кино» в Заречном (1991, «Последний сон Анатолия Васильевича»); приз «Ника» за луч¬ший научно-популярный фильм (1994, «Групповой портрет в натюрморте»). Лауреат премии «Познание» «За просветительскую работу, ставшую до¬стоянием мировой науки и культуры» (1994). В 1999 году получил приз  фестиваля мировоззренческого кино «Традиционные ценности – но¬вое поколение» («Абсолютно из ничего»).

На Западе В. Кобрина называли основателем русского авангарда в научном кино, он регулярно приглашался для чтения лекций европейскими киношколами (Кёльн, Потсдам, Копенгаген и др.), а в 1997 году получил приглашение от кинотеки Гарвардского университета. В 1998 году специальные ретроспективы фильмов режиссёра прошли на ки¬нофестивалях в Пезаро (Италия) и Монреале.
В. Кобрин вел мастерские режиссуры кино и компьютерной графики во ВГИКе и на курсах повышения квалификации Госкино России. Собрал коллектив единомышленников, называемый «Kobrin Screen studio», состоящий из коллег и студентов.   
7 декабря 1999 года Владимир Кобрин умер.

В апреле 2000 года Фестиваль мировоззренческого кино учредил премию памяти В. Кобрина. 

ФИЛЬМОГРАФИЯ
«Явление радиоактивности», 1977; «Полупроводники», 1978; «Механическая обработка полупроводниковых материалов», 1978; «Полупроводники», 1979; «Технология производства полупроводниковых приборов», 1979; «Физические основы квантовой теории», 1980; «Механика как наука», 1981; «Предмет и задачи биофизики», 1982; «Особенности кинетики биологических процессов», 1983; «Высокомолекулярные соединения», 1984; «Регуляция биологических процессов», 1985; «Термодинамика биологических процессов», 1986; «Молекулярная биофизика», 1986; «Перенос электрона в биологических системах», 1987; «Биофизика ферментативных процессов», 1987; «Транспорт веществ через биологические мембраны», 1987; «Первичные фотобиологические процессы», 1988; «Биопотенциалы», 1988; “Самоорганизация биологических процессов”, 1989; «Homo Paradoksum», 1989; «Present Continuous», 1989; «Homo Paradoksum-2», 1990; “Последний сон Аналолия Васильевича”, 1990; «Homo Paradoksum-3», 1991; «1991=ТУТ», 1991; «Шаги в никуда», 1992; «Групповой портрет в натюрморте», 1993; «Первый апокриф», 1993; «Future Continuous», 1993; «Серое время», 1994; «Третья реальность-1», 1995; «Третья реапьность-2», 1996; «Абсолютно из ничего», 1997; «KrotoSkobrismus», 1997; «Сон пляшущих человечков», 1998; «GraviDance», 1999.