RUS

Giovanni Giommi

graduated at the faculty of Architecture at the Politecnico of Milan and in the same city frequented the Civil School of Cinema. In 1997 he starts to work as author, producer and director for Tele+ and MTV Italia (Com’е; Brand:New, Pavlov).

FILMOGRAPHY

“Nel Cuore delle Alghe e dei Coralli - I Cento Passi di Peppino Impastato“,2000; “Beisbol”, 2001; “NICE!”, 2003; “Frames-Variazioni per Catena di Montaggio”, “Avere Ventanni”, 2005; “Politica Zero”, 2006; “Les Ninjas du Japon”, 2007; “Parafernalia”, 2008; «Дурная погода», 2011.
Grand Prix “Big Golden Nanook” for the best film
FIPRESCI Jury prize “Silver Nanook”

Bad Weather (18+)

Germany, UK, 2011, colour, 82 min.
Director: Giovanni Giommi
BAD WEATHER tells the story of Banishanta Island. It is made up of a community of sex workers. Living on a tiny sliver of land 100 meters long and only ten meters wide in the Bay of Bengal, south Bangladesh, this community survives at the front line of climate change. The rising river, soil erosion and frequent cyclones are slowly destroying what is left of the island. Razia, Khadija and Shephalie, three of the last 65 women left living there, are in a battle for their homes, the future of their families, and even their quest for true love. As they strive to hold onto their livelihood, time is running out. Soon the whole of Banishanta will be totally submerged under water, making it one of the first real casualties of the shifting global environment.

AWARDS

ZagrebDox 2012, Croatia (Special Mention); Bellaria FF 2012, Italy (Best Italian Doc Award)

Attention! All events of the festival times are given in Perm time (GMT+5)

ENG

Джованни Джомми

выпускник факультета архитектуры Политехнического университета в Милане. Посещал Миланскую киношколу. В 1997 году начал работать автором программ, продюсером и режиссером на каналах Tele+ и MTV Italia (Com’е; Brand: New, Pavlov).

ФИЛЬМОГРАФИЯ

“Nel Cuore delle Alghe e dei Coralli - I Cento Passi di PeppinoImpastato“, 2000; “Beisbol”, 2001; “NICE!”, 2003; “Frames-Variazioni per Catena diMontaggio”, “Avere Ventanni”, 2005; “Politica Zero”, 2006; “Les Ninjas du Japon”, 2007; “Parafernalia”, 2008; «Дурная погода», 2011.
Гран-при “Большой Золотой Нанук” за лучший фильм фестиваля
Приз жюри ФИПРЕССИ “Серебряный Нанук”

Дурная погода (18+)

Германия, Великобритания, 2011, цветной, 82 мин.
Режиссер: Джованни Джомми
Это история об острове Бунишанта, на котором живут работницы сферы интимных услуг. Они живут на небольшом клочке земли, 100 метров в длину и 10 – в ширину, в Бенгальском заливе к югу от Бангладеш, на пограничной линии смены климата. Река с увеличивающимся уровнем воды, эрозия почвы и постоянные циклоны постепенно уничтожают то, что осталось от этого острова. Из 65 женщин на острове остались жить только три: Раззия, Хадиджа и Шефали. Они сражаются за свои дома, будущее своих семей и ищут настоящую любовь. Пока они пытаются подкопить денег, их время выходит. Скоро Банишанта полностью уйдет под воду и станет первой реальной жертвой глобальной смены климата.

НАГРАДЫ

ZagrebDox 2012, Croatia (Special Mention); Bellaria FF 2012, Italy (Best Italian Doc Award)