RUS

THE FLAHERTY SEMINAR AT FLAHERTIANA

Jill Godmilow

is an internationally known and celebrated independent filmmaker focusing on feminist, gay, labor and art issues, primarily in non-fiction formats. In 2013 she retired from teaching film production and critical studies courses in the Department of Film, Television & Theatre at the University of Notre Dame.

FILMOGRAPHY

Tales, 1971; Antonia: A Portrait of the Woman, 1974; The Popovich Brothers of South Chicago, 1977; Far from Poland, 1984; Waiting for the Moon, 1987; The Odyssey Tapes, 1988; Roy Cohn/Jack Smith, 1994; What Farocki Taught, 1998; Lear '87 Archive, 2002.

Far from Poland (0+)

USA, 1984, colour, 107 min.
Director: Jill Godmilow
When she is refused a visa to travel to Poland, Jill Godmilow has to literally reinvent the documentary (calling it “dramatary”) to deal with the Polish situation. She does so with a particular eye to deconstruct not only documentary’s specific claims to objectivity, but also the bourgeois audiences’ desire to sit comfortably in their seats, feel compassion, feel themselves part of the solution (not part of the problem) by having felt compassion for the poor oppressed Poles, who, Godmilow would argue, are far more acutely aware of their situation and what forces oppress them than the liberal American folk in the movie house.

AWARDS

Nominated, Grand Jury Prize, Sundance Film Festival (1985).

ENG

СЕМИНАР ФЛАЭРТИ В ГОСТЯХ У «ФЛАЭРТИАНЫ»

Джилл Годмилоу

всемирно известный независимый режиссер, которую интересуют проблемы феминисток, геев, рабочих и искусства. В основном она работает в неигровом кино. До 2013-го преподавала режиссуру и критику на факультете кино, телевидения и театра в Университете Нотр-Дама.

ФИЛЬМОГРАФИЯ

«Истории», 1971; «Антония: портрет женщины», 1974; «Братья Попович из южного Чикаго», 1977; «Вдали от Польши», 1984; «Ожидая Луну», 1987; «Записи Одиссея», 1988; «Рой Кон/Джек Смит», 1994; «Чему учил Фароки», 1998; «Лир-87, архив (выдержки)», 2002.

Вдали от Польши (0+)

США, 1984, цветной, 107 мин.
Режиссер: Джилл Годмилоу
Когда-то Джилл Годмилоу отказали в польской туристической визе. В ответ Джилл сняла документальный фильм, в котором рассказала о ситуации в Польше. Это попытка не только разрушить традиционные представления об объективности документального кино, но и бросить вызов желанию буржуазной публики комфортно устроиться в кресле и пару часов сочувствовать бедняжкам-полякам. Режиссер готова поспорить, что жители Польши гораздо четче осознают ситуацию и ее причины, чем либеральные американцы, сидящие в кинотеатре.

НАГРАДЫ

Кинофестиваль «Сандэнс», 1985: номинация на Гран-при жюри.